Tuesday, December 9, 2008



December 8 2008

15 people among them a councillor charged with arson after party polls hit by violence

Most ODM MPs in South Rift, Nyanza and Western provinces were on Monday elected as branch chairmen in their respective constituencies.

In cases where MPs did not contest, their supporters were elected as branch chairmen.

And 15 people were charged with arson in connection with the ongoing ODM polls. Among those charged was a councillor.

Six other people were arrested in Migori and Rongo districts as violence and controversy continued to mar the party’s elections in different parts of Nyanza and western provinces.

Interim chair

In Kisumu, councillor Robert Otuge of Kolwa East ward in Kisumu East constituency, together with 14 others, were charged before resident magistrate Mary Immaculate Moranga.

They were accused of destroying property worth Sh500,000 at the home of Mr John Osumba in Manyatta estate on Saturday.

Mr Osumba is a nominated councillor and the outgoing ODM interim chair in Kisumu Town East constituency.

Councillor Otuge and the others accused denied the charges and were freed on Sh20,000 bond each with similar surety. The case will be mentioned on December 22 and heard on January 16.

In Migori and Rongo districts, six people were arrested after violence marred the polls. In Migori, two men were picked by police after two rival groups clashed at Pap Ndiege Village in Nyatike constituency.

Scores of people who sustained injuries during the fight were treated at various health centres in the area.

Although the area MP Edick Anyanga described the polls as free and fair, his opponents claimed they had been rigged.

“I cannot allow those who defected to other parties in the run-up to the last General Election to participate in ODM polls. This is an exercise for only ODM members,” the MP said.

In Rongo, four people were arrested following a fight between people believed to be supporting area MP and Cabinet minister Dalmas Otieno and his main opponent, Mr Ochillo Ayacko.

They were taken to Awendo Police Station where they were locked up.

In South Rift, MPs Franklin Bett (Buret), Charles Keter (Belgut), Benjamin Langat (Ainamoi) and Magerer Langat (Kipkelion) were elected branch chairmen.

Chepalungu MP Isaac Ruto did not contest for the branch post but indicated that he would be gunning for the national organising secretary’s post.

In Bomet, mayor Leonard Barsumei, was elected branch chairman.

Dr Julius Kones was ousted as the Konoin constituency chairman in the elections which he and his team boycotted. The polls were held at Mogogosiek centre in Konoin. Mr Ronald Ngeny was elected chairman.

In Kakamega, Shinyalu MP Charles Lilechi was elected branch chairman unopposed, while lawyer Aggrey Shitsama won in Ikolomani.

In Kwisero, Mr Dickson Kitavi beat area MP Evans Akula to become the new branch chairman.

In Sabatia, Deputy Prime Minister Musalia Mudavadi went in unopposed as did Planning minister Wycliffe Oparanya in Butere.

In Mumias, area MP Ben Washiali was elected chairman by consensus. Yusuf Chanzu won in Vihiga.

ODM elections director Philip Okundi said the party will not recognise any official elected contrary to the party rules and guidelines for elections.

Submitted by francois08
Posted December 09, 2008 11:30 AM

We need steadmans statistics in this so that we can know the most violence prone zones in our country.

Submitted by Hillaryio
Posted December 09, 2008 09:20 AM

Kenyan leaders are simply greedy. Someone is a cabinet minister, MP, chairman of his/her party local branch, chairs various parliamentary commitees, etc etc. I don't even know why these party grassroot elections are held. The story is always the same. Nothing ever changes.

Submitted by wmakora
Posted December 09, 2008 08:58 AM

ODM party is taking shape in the country. If you see leaders clamouring for positions in the party, know for sure that they treasure it. It adds them the value